Dining Alone

My wife was in Minnesota all week tending to some family business, so I was left to my own devices with regard to my meals.

On Sunday afternoon, I stopped by The Brooklyn Burger Bar (7th/9th) in Park Slope. I bellied up to the bar and had a Brooklyn Lager along with The Brooklyn Burger (flamed in brooklyn beer with bacon, home made mozzarella and caramelized onions). It was okay, not great but it was a relaxing way to spend the afternoon after having traveled back from Chicago and I made some small talk with another guy at the bar as a bunch of us watched the Pats/Cowboys game.

Monday-Thursday provided a random mix of frozen meals that ran the gamut from fairly gross to considerably edible. I had things like Ore Ida Tater-Tots, TGIF Hot Wings, Mrs. T’s Pierogies, and Hot Pockets. Yeah, pretty sad. It’s not that I couldn’t cook something healthier or tastier but that I was pretty lazy and tired once I got home from work.

On Friday, I decided to have a decent meal and took advantage of the happy hour special at Melt. They have a great deal that runs til 8pm – a Kobe Beef Burger w/ fries for $10 and draft beer for $3. This could be the beginning of a dangerous habit.

2 Responses to “Dining Alone”

  1. Jamie Says:

    What the?!?! You should have called. We would have been more than happy to set you up with dinner. Okay…I would have. Darren is really good at pouring the drinks.

  2. Katie Says:

    I second that! I believe I tried to make plans with you a few times…

    What were the amazing finds in the frozen foods section?

Leave a Reply

