Fool for Good Marketing

A couple weekends ago my wife and I made it out to The Westchester, a fancy-pants mall in White Plains, NY.

While there, we stumbled upon a store we had never heard of called Martin + Osa

It felt like a European version of J. Crew. The layout of the store was clean, the clothes were crisp, and the music hip. They did a good job of creating an upscale vibe. Intrigued, I asked the salesperson about the store and it turns out it’s a subsidiary of American Eagle Outfitters – not necessarily a cool brand in my mind. But I’ve got to give them credit for going more mature and more upscale.

And though the packaging is certainly NOT eco-friendly, they created a premium experience at check-out. They place your clothes in a special bag within a bag and place your receipt in an envelope. I know I totally just overpaid for a shirt and am destroying the environment with the excessive use of paper, but for a brief second they made me feel special – now that’s good marketing!

Leave a Reply

